Original watercolour inscribed in pencil “Cox Homestead 1861”.

Nineteenth‑century rural homestead. An iconic Australian scene of a homestead with outbuildings, paddocks and horses.

The Cox family had thousands of acres in various parts of New South Wales ‑ in the Mulgoa Valley, Bathurst and Windsor areas to name just a few. This watercolour is a significant historical relic of nineteenth‑century country life, complete with horse and cart.

SKU SF001434 Category


William Cox (1764-1837) is best known for constructing the first road over the Blue Mountains in 1814, following the earlier crossing by Blaxland, Lawson and Wentworth.

Cox and his family became substantial land owners in the new colony. By 1810 he and his sons had tkaen up land in the Mulgoa district and later ran flocks in the Mudgee district. Cox received the first grant of land west of the mountians, 2000 acress across the river from Bathurst which he called Hereford. Cox’s large estate at Clarendon near Windsor was one of the finest in the colony, employing over 50 convicts. In 1819 his wife died, leaving five sons. Two years later Cox married again, adding to his family three sons and a daughter.

William Cox Jr of the 46th Regiment married the daughter of Captain Piper and purchased the estate of Hobartville near Windsor in 1816 and later took up properties near Muswellbrook and Warialda. He and his father purchased 8000 acres in 1825 to form the estate of Negoa. William Cox (the elder) died in 1837. His numerous sons also left their names on the records of the early pastoral development of the State.

Further research is required to determine which of Clarendon, Hobartville,Negoa, Wimbourne, Hereford, Burrandong or other Cox family properties this watercoulr represents. The pencil annotation of 1861 is believed to potentially have been added later and the actual date is more likely from the 1830s or 40s.

Additional information



Paper, Watercolour